Care Strike: Mutual Aid & Love

April 1st, 2020  |  Published in General

Poetic Theory for the Care Strike of 2020

By Story

4/1/20 – 4/2/20

 

Landlords leech off of the vulnerable 

Yet they refuse to get a job

Then they cower in fear when vulnerability people revolt

 

Our government has birthed money out of thin air 

Yet the market still crashed

And of course, people in power want us to go to work for the “good of the economy” because profits are more important than people in this world….oh and people are having virus-themed parties!

 

People need support 

They need to know that we are here 

Rugged Individualism failed 

Yet I have members of my school cohort who criticize people who desperately need vital necessities to survive….

While I’m here in my room worrying and writing about my parents who are both immunocompromised

I have the right to be scared 

To be angry 

And absolutely FUMING that people in my life don’t take into consideration those who are less fortunate 

 

I’m running out of my depression medication 

Lucky me, I went to my dad’s house to get a bottle I have at his house 

Yet I cannot restock on them until next week

So if I run out….my emotional state will go down hill and quickly deteriorate 

So I have to keep myself in-check

That is why I am filled with love and rage

 

Love for those who understand my position 

The anxiety of losing my parents to a virus

Fear of not making it through the week and having my mind try to violently kill itself again because of episodes and panic attacks 

Love for those who are here for me and remind me every day that they still love me and care for me….

 

Rage at those who are ignorant and don’t take others into consideration 

Rage at people around me for only being silent now that we are all apart

Tears at the people that force people to follow the rules when some of us depend on having to break them just so we can survive 

Resentment that I have for being belittled because I am fearing about the future of the people I hold closest to me….

 

Because of those consequences 

I support the unionizing of tenants

Solidarity amongst all beings

And a general strike whether physical or digital 

A strike that is about building a better livable future of invaluable community rather than rugged individualism and hierarchy…..

 

Comments are closed.


Reminder

This duck wants to remind you that despite all the bad stuff in the world. Things can and will get better