Riot Around: Suburbia

June 4th, 2020  |  Published in General

“So take heed if you live in the city
In a part where the tourists won’t’s tread
And beware if you maintain resistance
And choose not to be one of the led
And if you’re out in suburban gardens
Don’t let them plant lies deep in your head
’cause you too could come home to no home
Or to find your family dead”

 

I can slowly feel the creeping threat of Authoritarianism

Day after day

I feel scared for my family & my comrades of color

My sisters are risking their lives

Because one of our brothers got shot

Take these protests to the suburbs!

 

Riots and Protests

They are 2 sides of the same coin

Needed to get attention and change

 

Of course, the youth will riot

We have nothing else to live for

 

Trump has officially been compared to Nazis by parts of his old administration 

Every day seems like something better and radical can happen 

I ask for my middle-class comrades to look in the mirror

See that the state abuses us as a buffer to maintain power and stop us from connecting to our working-class comrades

 

How I am considered sub-human for not fitting the heteronormative binary

Yet viewed as a stranger when I find comfort with such a label

Using education as a means of emancipation

and making ‘mac and cheeseless’ to confuse my parents

 

I use love and rage because all successful revolutions are fundamentally based on them…..

So keep on fighting

Wether protest or riots

for each other!

#BlackLivesMatter

 

Comments are closed.


Reminder

This duck wants to remind you that despite all the bad stuff in the world. Things can and will get better